You say tomato, I say tomatillo

Tomatillos ready to be picked

This spring I decided to plant a tomatillo plant.  The last time I tried this it failed miserably (pre-automatic sprinkler system).  This year I have a bumper crop.  I decided to make some Mexican Salsa Verde.  I was introduced to making Salsa Verde by my dishwasher when I was working at Culinary School of the Rockies.

Tomatillos are an interesting fruit.  You have to remove the papery husk to get to the fruit.  The fruit is very sticky and it takes effort to wash the sticky residue off your hands.  In order to use them to make Salsa Verde, you need to boil them or cook them in some way.  I will try to grill then soon to see how that Salsa turns out.

Salsa Verde

Salsa Verde

1 lb. Tomatillos

1/4 onion small dice

2 limes

1/4 cup Cilantro leaves

2 Jalapeños (stem and seeds removed, unless you like it hotter)

1 tsp. Sugar

Salt and Pepper to taste

Method:

Peel the husks off the tomatillos

Place in boiling water and boil for around 5 minutes (they will change color to a lighter lime green)

Put into a blender with the chopped onion, cilantro, the jalapeños, lime juice and sugar

Purée until very smooth and then season with salt and pepper to taste

Place in the fridge to cool down and then serve with chips or as a topping for tacos, enchiladas, burritos and tamales

Overall it is a very easy and tasty sauce and it is especially rewarding when you are growing almost all the elements yourself.

4 Responses

  1. Hi,

    I was “tag surfing” and noticed your post on tomatillos. My husband and I just made a post yesterday about tomatillos – we’d never cooked with them before. We like to do our own version of “Iron Chef” competitions, and tomatillos were the “secret ingredient”. He made a great dinner, incorporating tomatillos into a few different elements. I’m going to use them in MY dish next weekend.

    Thanks for the additional info about tomatillos. We’re still getting our bearings using them but it’s definitely an ingredient that more people should try!

    Regards,

    Laura
    http://culinaryspirits.wordpress.com/

    • Read your post. Liked that you roasted your tomatillos. Like I said in my post I will try to grill them next or even smoke them to see how that affects flavor. I also have some poblanos growing in my garden and might try to grill those and add them to the salsa.

  2. My husband particularly loves to roast or grill his veggies prior to adding them to a lot of dishes. I recently made a roast corn guacamole – that recipe is one of the first posted in my blog. I could believe how yummy the roasted corn kernels were!

    I’ll bet the roasted poblanos will be an excellent addition to a salsa!

    • I tried grilling almost all the elements and included the poblanos. Very flavorful, but takes more effort.

Leave a Reply

