Back on TV

Yesterday I had another shot cooking on TV.  The day before I was told I had to prepare healthy breakfast item and that I would be on a new segment with Dr. John Torres that might occur every Wednesday.  I was provided his cell number and a meeting time.

I tried to call him several times the day prior but got no-where.  So I just came up with my own segment.  I cook breakfast for my family every day and one of their favorite dishes is blueberry pancakes.  Usually, my wife Lucy cooks this for them every Saturday morning, but I figured what the hell let’s break the rule and I’ll take some of the batter with me to the station.

I adjusted the recipe from Joy of Cooking to omit the butter and to change the sweetener to Agave Nectar (which has a lower glycemic index).

here is the recipe:

Blueberry Pancakes (adapted from Joy of Cooking by Irma S. Ronbauer)

Mix together in a large bowl:

1 ½ cups All-purpose flour

1 ¼ Tablespoons Baking Powder

1 teaspoon Salt

In separate bowl mix together:

3 Tablespoons Agave nectar

1 ½ cups milk

2 eggs

½ teaspoon vanilla extract (optional)

Add the wet ingredients to the large bowl of dry ingredients and mix.  Then add ½ cup of frozen or fresh blueberries.  Heat some oil in a fry pan and when the oil is in between sizzling and smoking add ¼ cup of batter for each pancake.  Cook to golden brown and then flip the pancake over to finish.

I also figured I would demo turning a grapefruit into suprêmes (segments).  All of this would make for a healthy breakfast.

When I got to work, I saw the Dr. John had called.  We chatted and he said that he had an omelet in mind and I told him what I had prepared for and he said let’s do it.  I took for the station with plenty of leeway time to make sure I wasn’t going to be in a panic.

The station is very different than Channel 9.  The set is surrounded by all the newscaster’s cubicles.  They showed me where to set up and I chatted with Dr. John about our segment.  Already this felt considerably more organized than my last TV segment.

Then before you knew it we were on the air.  I was a lot more prepared this time and was able to articulate better.  The segment was about 3 minutes long.

I packed up my stuff and headed back to school.

Leave a Reply

