Fireside Garden Project

For over a year now my wife Lucy has been actively trying to get my son’s elementary school to start a garden project.  Today we broke ground.  In an hour and 45 minutes, we broke ground, took away all the turf and filled the plot with compost rich topsoil.

It was amazing to see how many people came to help out on the project.  Parents, teachers and their children working together as well as some volunteer students from CU who were assigned to write a paper about the project.

Laura Ruby was there representing the Growe Foundation who was kind enough to provide the funding to get this project off the ground.

Future farmer

Future farmer

Even if you can't reach it, try anyway. He was also trying to eat a cookie at the same time.

Even if you can't reach it, try anyway. He was also trying to eat a cookie at the same time.

Worm patrol

Worm patrol

My son Paris

My son Paris

Then the dirt came. Time for king of the mountain

Then the dirt came. Time for king of the mountain

I know I have mostly talked about food and teaching on this blog, but this project is also very close to my heart.

Every spring I look forward to planting my own garden and watching it grow.  My kids participate and we eat what we plant.  There is no more powerful connection to the earth than that.

I’m glad to see this movement taking place in our country.  The connections our children will make to the source of food will be permanent.

To all that participated thank you and thank you Growe Foundation.

Leave a Reply

