Duck poached in beurre fondue with watercress puree parmentier, turban of butternut squash and a walnut verjus sauce

More work on Bauscher plates.  This time Garde Manger plated a miniaturized version of the duck consommé on one of the Bauscher silhouette small bowls.  I have been wanting to see what might work well with this design.   I will play with it further as I think it is a very attractive shape.

img_1634

Chef  Dale normally puts a deeper color on the mini choux filled with duck liver parfait, but I think you can get a good idea of the bowl design and its potential.

Next up was my dish of Duck breast cooked au blanc or without color.  The original recipe calls for it to be cooked lightly in a pan with butter.  So of course I had to take it one step further and poach it in beurre fondue.  I poached at 150ºF for around two hours.  The butternut squash is run through a japanese turning slicer and sauteed in butter.  I love the color. The compliments oval plate reminds me of an eye and I will have to see what I can do as a presentation along those lines.

Butter poached duck breast with watercress potato puree, butternut squash turban and a verjus and walnut sauce

Butter poached duck breast with watercress potato puree, butternut squash turban and a verjus and walnut sauce

Here is the same presentation on the Silhouette line.

img_1641

I wanted to add one more picture of the Amuse Bouche my students came up with during their hot line practical.  I thought it looked quite attractive and well conceived.  It needs a little more work but I was happy to see they can think critically and can come up with a nice looking amuse on their own.

Potato and mushroom Napoleon with basil puree

Potato and mushroom Napoleon with basil puree

Leave a Reply

