Alumni Dinner

I was commissioned a little over a month ago to design a sit down dinner for our alumni. I think it is great Cook Street is reaching out to its alumni. Every small personal school should cater to its alumni, follow their progress and feature them in their publications.

I stay in close contact with my alma mater l’Academie de Cuisine. They connected me with my last boss. So it does pay off.

The dinner I believe was a big success and I certainly enjoyed making the food.

The menu:

Amuse Bouche: Spinach arugula and Haystack Mountain goat cheese filled agnolotti served with a pistachio brown butter sauce

Appetizer: Cold cream of asparagus soup with a crab meat salpicon

Main course: Grilled and slow roasted Mike Callicrate’s flatiron steak, with grilled vegetables and chimichurri sauce

Dessert: Strawberry shortcake with basil cream

Chef Lexie also put out some ganache stuffed cherries and pâte à fruit for mignardises, that I forgot to take a picture of. Debbie our sommelier also selected some stellar wines (which included and rosé sparkler, a Sancerre and a Rioja) to go along with our meal. The regional Director of Slow Food was our guest of honor and made a speech at the end of our meal.

I wanted to thank all of my current students that participated in making some of the dishes and Lauren Knoelke (also a current student) who helped plate all the dishes that evening.

I look forward to doing more of these in the future.

Leave a Reply

